top of page

The Dangerous Philosophy of Ursula Le Guin

One of my favorite authors remains Ursula Le Guin who died in 2018.

Le Guin was not a Christian in fact she devoted herself to Taoism, a pagan religion.

("To many people, a confusing aspect of Taoism is its very definition. Many religions will happily push judgment and dogma which in reflection defines a person. Taoism flips this around. It starts by teaching a truth; “The Tao” is indefinable.." from the article: Taoism 101: Introduction to the Tao )

However the virtue and truth that God has made into all of creation is still expressed even in "pagan" attenpts at explaining creation.

If you have never read any of Le Guins works here is an article that will help you get started - A guide to Ursula K. Le Guin's best books

Video from Science Fiction with Damien Walter

The Dangerous Philosophy of Ursula Le Guin

"Le Guin has been greatly strongly influenced by feminism, Taoism, anthropology, and works of Carl Jung. She has employed the protagonist, who is most of the time, cultural observers, or anthropologists. She also based works on Taoist ideas about equilibrium and balance.." from the website:

"Ursula K. Le Guin, original name Ursula Kroeber, (born October 21, 1929, Berkeley, California, U.S.—died January 22, 2018, Portland, Oregon), American writer best known for tales of science fiction and fantasy imbued with concern for character development and language.

Le Guin, the daughter of distinguished anthropologist A.L. Kroeber and writer Theodora Kroeber, attended Radcliffe College (B.A., 1951) and Columbia University (M.A., 1952). The methods of anthropology influenced her science-fiction stories, which often feature highly detailed descriptions of alien societies. Her first three novels, Rocannon’s World (1966), Planet of Exile (1966), and City of Illusions (1967), introduce beings from the planet Hain, who established human life on habitable planets, including Earth. Although her Earthsea series—A Wizard of Earthsea (1968), The Tombs of Atuan (1971), The Farthest Shore (1972), Tehanu (1990), Tales from Earthsea (2001), and The Other Wind (2001)—was written for children, Le Guin’s skillful writing and acute perceptions attracted a large adult readership. She tapped the young adult market again with her Annals of the Western Shore series, which includes Gifts (2004), Voices (2006), and Powers (2007). Le Guin also wrote a series of books about cats with wings; the series included Catwings Return and Jane on Her Own, both published in 1999.." from the article: Ursula K. Le Guin


1 view0 comments
bottom of page